Trump Administration Announces New Set of Travel Restrictions

By: Zack Duvall


The Trump administration has unveiled a new set of travel restrictions for several nations around the world either labeled as terrorism incubators, or nations the U.S. government says have failed to provide sufficient security precautions in country to combat the issue of global terror and unrest.

The new round of restrictions impacts an additional 3 countries, bringing the total number of nations with travel now restricted to 8. That list includes:

  • Chad
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • Libya
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Syria

Sudan, a country that was included on the original list of countries, was dropped from the list after what U.S. intelligence officials have called “substantial gains” in the fight against terror groups that were operating in the country.

The new set of restrictions, that take effect October 18, are similar in wording to the previous order, however,  the new policy has also been geared to target countries not just because of the mere presence of terror groups within those nations but the lack of a working partnership with those nation’s government’s as well.

That wording and the fact that the restrictions have been expanded to include non-Muslim majority countries is expected to block any potential legal action by immigration activists and liberal organizations, such as the ACLU, who claim that the action by the White House is unconstitutional on the grounds that it discriminates based on culture.

The previous order issued by the White House in January immediately came under fire from Democrats and leftist groups who staged large protests at virtually all major U.S. airports and launched numerous lawsuits in federal courts.

Those groups won an initial victory in U.S. District Courts when both the 9th Circuit and a federal judge from Hawaii blocked the order on the ludicrous claims of “intent” for the law to adversely target Muslim immigrants and refugees based on campaign statements made by the President.

However, none of the courts expanded on what statements by the President they were directly referring to when making this decision.

Those rulings were later overturned when the matter reached the Supreme Court, who heard the case after the Justice Department filed court documents of their own.

In June, the Supreme Court ruled that the restrictions could be implemented with the condition that travelers from those countries be allowed in if they had a “bona-fide” connection the the U.S. mainland. Those connections were outlined to be direct family members including a parent, sibling, spouse, child, or grand-parent who was a legal and permanent U.S. resident.

The previous order expired on Sunday, with the new set of restrictions expected to be the long-term policy from the administration on the issue of addressing terrorists or terrorist sympathizers exploiting the U.S. immigration system in order to travel to the U.S. mainland. Something both ISIS and Al-Qaeda have vowed to do on multiple occasions.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s